Not been ignoring everyone

Just really busy.  Between Hubby at a conference, then I went to a conference, trying to put my garden together, and oh it’s baseball season (both for my 1st place STL Cardinals and my kid)

Baseball

Yup that’s him, before his first game (their hats had not come in yet so that one is mine).  It’s his first year in Little League (back in St. Louis we didn’t have Little League we had Athletic Associations).  He’s playing up a level so he’s pretty much one of the youngest in the league and his team, which is currently in first place.

Beyond that, I finished a new shoe cross stitch picture (previously mentioned) and designed a few new patterns.  One is a my take a red ruby slipper/shoe to finish my set of 4 shoes, done with DMC light effects.  When I start on it I will get a post up with progress reports.  Sabrina is still on the back burner.  I just can’t take the beading that needs to be done at the moment and the break makes me feel like I accomplished something.  So instead I have started a Christmas themed Starry Night pattern that I found in one of  grandmother’s old books from the late 80’s.  it is a church covered in snow, on black aida, with the words starry night above it.  I am going to do the words in metallic thread and if I can figure out how to do those tiny fabric lights I will add them as well.  Otherwise, I may just throw up some blue and white beads to create stars or snowflakes.  To finish off my cross stitch accomplishments as of late, I am working on finishing up 3 other patterns, 2 sets of flowers and a Morning Dove.

Hopefully, tomorrow I will have my review of Zoe Archer’s Skies of Fire.  I finally got to read this on the plane to Philadelphia for my conference.  Of course, I did not get to finish Passion Wears Pearls (that I started on the trip over) because AirTran wanted to strand me in Atlanta at Midnight on my return trip home (with of course no place to stay, except I found out the next day that some old college friends now live in Atlanta – that’s how well I keep up with everyone LOL).  As trying to find a hotel to sleep in Atlanta, at midnight, on  Friday was not my idea of a good time, I talked AirTran into paying for a rental car and I drove home from Philadelphia, back to Cleveland, leaving Philly at almost 8:30pm, after having been up since at least 6 am that morning.  Needless to say I am just now recovering from being up for 21 hours straight and another 7.5 drive late at night.

Other then that, it has been gardening, backyard bird watching (we now have both red and yellow finches, cardinals, blue jays, brewers blackbirds, and chickadees, hoping for hummingbirds now that feeder is out), and a little bit of hiking and questing at Cuyahoga Valley.  We made our own stamps on Sunday and hit the Beaver Marsh quest.  Then it was off to see the Avengers, which all three kids (including the 36 year old one) loved.

So yes, we’ve been busy!

Leave a Reply

