Review: Highland Mist

Highland Mist
Highland Mist by Donna Grant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’ve read a few of Ms.  Grant’s books before and when I saw this discounted on Amazon,  thought I’d pick it up.   The story starts off with a druid prophecy surrounding 3 girls,  two of which are murdered along with their parents.   The third child,  a baby is taken by MacNeil to raise as his own.
Glenna,  is very young,  isolated,  and unsure of her abilities.   She has been feared by her clan and her powers abused by her father.   When she sees her chance to escape,  she takes it offering herself up as captive to Conall.
Conall is a druid who has turned his back on his powers.   He carries a deep resentment towards them because, as laird,  he could never fully embrace druid life.   He is a kind man,  but like most heros expects to be immediate compliance with his orders.   He is good at reading people because of both his druid gift and natural intuition.   Except for MacNeil, whom he continues to expect to obey the same honor system, despite repeated proof otherwise.
My biggest problem in the book was the growth of Glenna’s character.   She had a long way to go and her route didn’t always make sense.   She seemingly sweeps aside all emotion in the attempts to come between her and Conall or when someone attempts to kill her or others.   But then her emotions run out of control for much more minor incidents.   One expects a woman who can start fires and does so for being told to head back to the castle by Conall would use the skill, even subconsciously,  when being choked to death by an assailant.   I also though Glenna was more whinny than strong and really didn’t get invested in her character.  Hence bringing my rating from a 3.5-4 down to a 3.
On the other hand,  I found Conall and his struggle much more compelling.   I also found many of the supporting characters to be interesting and have a lot of depth,  which bodes very well for the rest of the series.   I especially enjoyed the loch scene and the building desire between the couple during the druid festival. I also enjoyed the overarching series plot.   I was glad the author introduced us to all the future h/h (or at least I think she did,  I may find myself wrong this afternoon).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

