Cross Stitch update

Ahh that pesky lady is not done yet, but still making progress.  I have not been working on it as diligently as I should be, but I am getting there.  Not only do I have a lot of stitches left, but the beading on the picture is extensive and time consuming.  I get asked a lot how I do such large projects.  I don’t really count my stitches like others do, but instead prefer to stitch relative to the rows around it.  So instead of counting out 10 stitches in the line, I see it as a puzzle.  Thus I compare my start and end to the line above or below it, starting how many before/after, stopping how many before/after.  I like this method because if I do make a mistake and miss it, I can easily correct the problem as I fill in the jigsaw.  The other tracking method I started with this project was highlighting the pattern.  I do find it saves me a lot of time as I no longer need to track where I am going and I can see the pattern fit together easily.

 

Here is an example of the highlighting on this project.  It also matches the progress I have made.  The entire opposite side of the pattern is already highlighted out.  You can see there are some strings of un-highlighted areas.  That is all the beading I still have to do.

 

As for progress, here she is

 

As you can see, I am about half way through her skirt, and then have to finish the beading.  I have done almost all the beading on the front half.  This project is also the first time I have used the very large beads.  In order to secure them flat, I come up through the bead, put one of the green beads on top, turn in and thread back through.

Here is a close up

Sorry it’s so blurry, my camera on my phone dislikes real close ups, but you can see how I have the flower shaped bead laying flat with a bead on top of it.  The rest of my beads are attached with single strand dmc in one of the colors surrounding the beads.  I chose not to use black thread to secure the beads because it will show up against the light colored blues and whites of the skirt.  I attach my beads with a half stitch.  I do all my stitches going right for the under and left coming back.  Thus all my beads are secured, half stitch to the right using a beading needle.

You can also see that I have moved off my QSnap frame to a 10 inch hoop.  I use the qsnap on large projects when I am working more in the middle as a way of controlling the amount of fabric.  But now that I am down to the bottom, I move to the hoop as it is easier for me to hold and stitch with.

 

So if you stitch, how do you prefer to stitch and how do you handle doing specialty stitches and beading?

2 thoughts on “Cross Stitch update

  1. Julie says:

    I only stitch using a scroll frame. I love them, but have seen pictures of the QSnap on other blogs. I’m interested in them, but I’ve got so much money invested in the scroll frames that I just can’t justify buying something new. I have only recently started doing projects that contain or require beading. I’ve got an old pair of stretcher bars that I use for those projects with beads. I like it because it allows me to access the entire piece of material at one time. I love your progress so far, that’s going to be a beautiful project!

    • Erin Schmidt says:

      Thanks Julie,
      I’ve used scroll frames in the past as well and my projects were just to big for them, hence the switch to the qsnap. I’m on my 3rd project with beading, but by no means my last no matter how much I complain about it

Leave a Reply

