Review: Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress

Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress
Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress by Elizabeth Boyle
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book and ended up hating it because it was not the story I wanted it to be. Instead of picking off where the last book left off, it picks up some 20 years later reuniting the Captain and Phillipa after the death of her husband.

I felt this book betrayed so much about Pippin and the love affair she had nursed through the previous books. So much so that I was glad to see that she was not mentioned in the next series in the letters between the sisters, or if she was it was minimal such that I never noticed.

I finished the book, despite wanting to throw it across the room a few times. I would have enjoyed the premises, especially the comedy, if I had not had my own preconceptions about the story that should have been told.

Now the story I want to be told is of her son (the new lord garret) and the woman she left for him in his ship’s cabin!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

