Review: The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae

The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae
The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae by Stephanie Laurens
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Why I understand the way the book had to be written, I was disappointed at the pace of it. I know there had to be room for the connection between the two characters to develop, but the first 60% of the book just dragged on and on (or maybe it was my cold). But the last 40% was well worth it and what I expected out of this novel.

It could just be that I was more interested in the resolution of the goblet and how that was going to unfold and expected most of the book to focus on that part of the story versus the wait and then trip to Scotland. I would have much preferred to cut out about 2 days in London, moved the goblet plot up, moved the weddings to the final chapter and then given us an epilogue on each girl.

While I enjoyed reading the series, the final book fell a bit flat which was sad because I really liked Angelica and Duncan, more so then Eliza and Jeremy. They reminded me more of Devil and Honoria and I thought this story just lacked the moving action that is classic in a Laurens’ novel and keeps the story moving.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

