Review: The Woman in Black

The Woman in Black
The Woman in Black by Susan Hill
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I thought this book was okay for a gothic horror. The first half of the book was very detailed and a bit wordy, which made the story move along slowly. The second half of the book moved much better, but was neither scary or suspenseful. I just kept waiting for more to happen. The ending was given away due to the excessive amount of detail given by the author. Thus I was sitting at the end of the book saying don’t do that, knowing exactly what the outcome would be.

I can see how someone could take this book and make a good movie adaptation from it. In fact, I would expect the movie to tap much more into the gothic horror genre then this book has. The book, sadly just fell flat. No need to worry that this ghost tale will keep you up at night, the book shouldn’t inspire any fear.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

