Serials, Ecstasy Wears Emeralds review

I have always been in love with serials.  Starting with comics as a child, I love being completely immersed into a circle of people.  Serial novels give readers the opportunity to meet all the characters in-depth, but also to find out more about past characters.  A majority of the books I read are part of a series.  I find a certain satisfaction in them.  But sometimes it also leads to disappointment, especially when a characters story does not come out like you wished it would.  This was one problem I had with the last book in Elizabeth Boyle’s Bachelor Chronicles series, Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress.  I HATED this book.  If my copy was a paperback it would have gotten tossed across the room (but since it was a kindle e-book, I thought better of it).  I didn’t hate the book due to anything being wrong with the book except that it was not the story I wanted for the h/h.  I was extremely bitter because this couple was my favorite of the three.  Needless to say, I am extremely pleased that her latest series, an offshoot of the previous one, made no mention of this heroine, as it would simply taint the new series (which I thoroughly enjoyed) with my disappointment of that book.

With that, I have a whole list of serials to read and last night started with the latest in Renee Bernard’s Jaded Series

Ecstasy Wears Emeralds . After reading the first book in this series, Revenge Wears Rubies, I couldn’t believe I had to wait so long for the next book to come out. The background starts in India, wear 6 men are held captive in a dungeon, escape, taking with them a fortune in jewels (hence the reference to a specific gem in each book title, one for each man – Rubies, Sapphires, Emeralds, Diamonds, Pearls and Opals). Each man has to adjust to returning to society and towards the end of each book faces a nameless villain who wants something they supposedly brought back from India. The villain plays a minor role in each book and appears in the very last part of the book, right as the hero realizes he’s fallen in love and has to decide whether to push away the heroine or keep her close, to protect her. This twist is the driving force to bring about what the couple has fought all along, they are completely enamored with each other. And oh how they have fought in each book. The couples are their own antagonists, which really allows the reader to become emotionally involved with the characters. In this book, the fight is over the heroine wanting to study medicine under Dr. West, which of course he knows isn’t possible, despite how talented she is, and his attempts to burn her out. Throw in some past secrets, assumptions, and one infatuated bribeable young man and Renee Bernard has another successful book in this series. Again I am left waiting for months for the next installment and which of the remaining three will be next.

Leave a Reply

